04
Nov
08

Your Workout Sucks

It’s day six of my Ultra Fit diet.  So far I’ve been able to be 100% compliant with the diet.  It’s not all that hard to stay on target.  The food choices are wide and varied and easy to make.  I am eating more and losing weight at the same time.  Really amazing.  

And the training program is also great.  I love it when a workout is challenging and I really have to push myself to get through it.  I’ve been working out on a consitant basis (at least 4 days a week) for the past five years.  My training had gotten mostly routine and I knew I needed to change things up a bit.  And for the most part, I did try to change the training programs about every two weeks.  But the Ultra Fit training program has really taken me to a whole new level.  

The thing about working out is you have to change up what you are doing.  If you don’t your body adapts to the type of force being placed on it and progress stops.  In order to continue making progress, change in the training program must occure at the very least every 3 to 4 weeks.  However, for optimal results you really need to change your reps and sets with each workout.  There is a saying among people that train themselves and others – The best workout is the one you are not doing.  

That saying is not necessarilly true.  You can have a great workout program and get great results if you know what you are doing or if you have a trainer who knows what they are doing to help you get the results.  

I’ve worked with a lot of people who believed that all that needed to happen was for me to write down a workout program and that program would get them in the shape of their lives.  It doesn’t work that way.  If it did there would be no such thing as personal trainers.  Everyone could just be handed the perfect training routine and get the body they want in no time at all.  Wouldn’t that be awesome?

A good personal trainer will guide you through your training and make adjustments as they are needed.  How could I make those changes or adjustments to my workouts if I had never had any experiance developing training programs?  It’s sort of like when my car breaks down.  Do I take it to a mechanic who knows what they are doing and can repair it quickly?  Or do I ask the mechanic for a manual on how to repair my car and attempt to fix it myself?  Yes, there are probably some people that can do that.  But the vast majority of us have to rely of the mechanic and his expertise.

If you ask me for a workout routine, and I was to actually give you one, it would only work for a short period of time.  And when the program stopped working guess who gets the blame.  You got it, it would be me.  You have to make changes to the sets, reps, rest periods and tempo of the routine.  This is where a skilled trainer comes in.  A trainer who can work with you to optimize your training program.  Someone who can help you repair your body in the shortest amount of time.  

Ultra Fit really is a remarkable weight loss, muscle building program.  I can’t wait to get back in the gym.  The challeges are rewarding and the benefits are huge.

0 Responses to “Your Workout Sucks”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Fitness Connection is a weekly newsletter that  is packed with FREE weight loss tips and exclusive info that will get you motivated, and show you how to improve your weight loss and fitness results like crazy

Add to Technorati Favorites

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

VISIT THE JACKELL TRAINING WEBSITE