10
Nov
08

Ultra Fit Saved My Life


The last two weeks have been the most physically draining of my life.  Most of the time I was having mild to moderate stomach cramps.  Nothing major, just stomach cramps that would not go away.  Then last Thursday it started getting worse.  I had to reschedule two of my clients because the pain was getting worse.

I went into work on Friday and did training sessions.  It seemed that the pain wasn’t as bad while I was being occupied.  Then late Friday night it hit me.  The pain got a lot worse.  My wife and I drove over to the emergency room.

They did an ex ray and told me I was stopped up.  I was given this jug and told to drink the who thing within eight hours.  At this point I would have done anything to get rid of the pain.  The jug relieved me of anything that was supposed to be stopping me up.  Except for the pain.  The pain just continued.

We went back to the ER Saturday afternoon.  This time they gave me a mild pain reliever and did a CT-Scan.  The scan came back showing that my gall bladder was inflamed and had at least one large stone in it.  The doctor gave me a prescription for pain medication and two samples to take when I got home.  I took the samples immediately.  No relief.  In fact the pain got worse.  This time it was unbearable.

My wife and I went back to the ER an hour after we left.  It took awhile for them to give me anything for the pain.  This had to be the worse pain I have ever experienced.  In fact, if you add up all the pains I have ever experienced it might all equal to what this felt like.  The first relief I had in two weeks.  If I hadn’t been knocked out I might of even enjoyed it.

The ER then did a ultra sound.  It was then that the surgeon came in and told me I needed to go to surgery right then.  At this point I didn’t care.  Whatever he could do to not have the pain come back was okay by me.

After the surgery the surgeon told me that my gall bladder had swollen up to three times the size of a normal gall bladder.  He said my gall bladder was “impressive”.  Not the organ I would like to have someone say is impressive.

Here’s why I tell this story.  If I was not in the shape I’m in from training and nutrition, I don’t think I would have survived this ordeal.  I really think that the pain would have cause me to either stroke out or have a heart attack.  My blood pressure and heart rate run low all the time.  While I was being monitored, my blood pressure and heart rate rose only a little bit of what it would be for a person who does not train or have the nutrition plan I have.  But, mine was not abnormally high.  Even with all the pain I was in.

The nurses came in and checked my blood pressure every two hours.  Twice a nurse had to come back in and recheck it because it was so low.  When I told them I worked out and had a nutrition plan that worked to reduce my blood pressure and heart rate they seemed relieved.

For me, this is living proof that staying in shape and eating right will save your life.  Even when you least expect.  I never work out or eat right because there may be a time when I have some sort of catastrophic event that will require me to be in great shape to survive.  But it happened.

If you are thinking about starting a workout program, start now.  Don’t wait.  I didn’t have a clue that my gall bladder would swell up like it did.  Or that I would ever experience that degree of pain.  Do something to get yourself in shape.  It could safe your life in ways you never imagined.

3 Responses to “Ultra Fit Saved My Life”


  1. November 11, 2008 at 2:57 am

    Best wishes for a speedy recovery.
    Terrific site!

  2. November 11, 2008 at 3:13 am

    This is amazing! I am glad you doing well now! Thank you for sharing this, good information to pass on to others.

  3. 3 michelle King
    November 14, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Glad to hear that you on the road to recovery!


Leave a Reply

The Fitness Connection is a weekly newsletter that  is packed with FREE weight loss tips and exclusive info that will get you motivated, and show you how to improve your weight loss and fitness results like crazy

Add to Technorati Favorites

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

VISIT THE JACKELL TRAINING WEBSITE