18
Jun
09

Elimination Diet One Day At A Time

SAN RAFAEL, CA - APRIL 9:  Packages of Equal a...

Last week I stopped consuming all dairy products including whey protein.  This week I’ve decided to see what would happen if I gave up all sugar substitutes as well as coffee.

Let me tell you this, as much as I love whey protein, coffee has been much harder to give up.  And I had no idea how much substitute sugar had an effect on me.

This is the sixth day off of coffee and the third day off of all substitute sugars.  Overall I think I’m doing fairly well but my wife keeps saying she hopes that I am in a better mood than I was yesterday.  I didn’t realize that my mood was that bad yesterday.  In fact, other than feeling sluggish and tired, I don’t think I was that bad to live with.  But then, I did not have to live with me.

For the most part, I’m living this elimination diet one day at a time.  Nothing is permanent and all I need to do is keep focusing on what is going on here and now.  This has really been a good experience for me in that it gives me a chance to experience what it’s like to give things up that I enjoy but that may not be allowing me to reach the goals I want to attain.

Michael Murphy (yes the same Michael Murphy who wrote and sang  “Wildfire”) has a line in a song “Blessing in Disguise” that describes this whole process for me.  “It’s good to lose the things you love, just to see what it’s like.”

My hope is that you lose the things that are holding you back from meeting your fitness goals.  Trust me, I know it’s not an easy process.  But I also know it’s well worth it.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
0 Responses to “Elimination Diet One Day At A Time”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Fitness Connection is a weekly newsletter that  is packed with FREE weight loss tips and exclusive info that will get you motivated, and show you how to improve your weight loss and fitness results like crazy

Add to Technorati Favorites

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

VISIT THE JACKELL TRAINING WEBSITE