07
Aug
09

Contempt Prior To Investigation

Almost everyday I have a conversation similar to this one:

“No, I don’t like that!”

So you have eaten it before and you didn’t like it?  “No, but I know I wouldn’t like it.  It just sounds gross.”

If you’ve never eaten it before, how can you say you wouldn’t like it?  “Oh I know, I just wouldn’t like it.”

Deciding you don’t like something before you even give it a chance is what I call “contempt prior to investigation”.  Many of us get stuck in only doing things that we are familiar with and avoid things, situations, challenges that we are not familiar with.  The problem with never taking risk and trying new things is that we fall into a rut and life gets stale.  We continue to do the same things over and over.  Then when we get tired of doing the same things over and over, the action needed to change our behavior becomes tremendous.  We then find ourselves caught in this vicious cycle of doing the same thing we have always done because it’s familiar to us, wanting to change and do something different, and falling short because changing old habits and behaviors requires lots of work.

It’s hard work changing the way we have always thought about ourselves and the world around us.  A lifetime of telling ourselves we don’t like to eat healthy foods takes a toll on us mentally, physically, emotionally, and spiritually.  How we treat ourselves by what we consume and how we treat our bodies usually takes time to change.

I could have swore that I hated cabbage.  I know that when I was growing up, the smell of cabbage would make me gag.  The same was true of cooked carrots.  When I made the decision to change my eating habits and got serious about being fit, my attitude started to change towards vegetables.  Cabbage, carrots and even beats tasted different.  I had spent an entire lifetime telling myself I didn’t like something and really it was just my attitude.

The great thing that I have learned is that I have the freedom to change.  I am not stuck with who I was.  I experience more of life and see things today from a whole new perspective.  Who I was 10 years ago is not who I am today.  For that matter, who I was last year is not who I am today.  I am free to not only make the decision to change, but to take the necessary action to make that change possible.

This is what changing your body composition and your nutrition is all about.  Being free.  Not stuck being the same person you’ve always been.  Change is a wonderful thing.

The best indication of life is change.

It’s time to be alive.  And the only way to do that is through change.  The choice and the action is yours.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
0 Responses to “Contempt Prior To Investigation”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Fitness Connection is a weekly newsletter that  is packed with FREE weight loss tips and exclusive info that will get you motivated, and show you how to improve your weight loss and fitness results like crazy

Add to Technorati Favorites

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

VISIT THE JACKELL TRAINING WEBSITE